This Sunday April 23rd the St Blazey Mx Premier Motocross Championship makes its way to the fast flowing Crediton Raceway for round 3 in the series.


In the St Blazey Mx Expert Championship it’s the Cab Screens Husqvarna of Dan Thornhill who heads the proceedings by 19 points from Tommy Alba (Pictured No 681) on the D S C Cornwall Kawasaki who for sure will be looking to close that gap, but also looking to do well will be the Tony Maunders Racing Suzuki of Jamie Skuse who sits in 3rd just 10 points adrift of Alba, but Skuse has Michael Ellis on the P & H Motorcycles/MRS Ktm there in 4th just 4 points behind, but there is plenty of other talent in attendance including Josh Gilbert on the Dave Thorpe Off Road/RFX Honda, Kelvin Townsend on the Tony Maunders Racing Yamaha, Cory Hockey on the Cheddar Mx Ktm, the Tony Maunders/M D Racing Ktm of James Kensington, the Dave Thorpe Adventure Centre Honda of Loukas Maggio, Darren Shears on the PCMP Yamaha, the Phoenix Tools Honda of David Yelland, last year’s Champion Jordan Carter on the Tony Maunders Racing Kawasaki and the SevenSeven2 Yamaha uk of Luke Dean to name a few.

In the R C Motorhomes 2-Stroke Championship its Ty Kellett who leads the Championship by 15 points going in to round 3 from last year’s Champion Leighton Holmes (Pictured No 564) on the J D Racing Ktm with the Inchains/JCT Developments Yamaha of Ben Milward just 7 points adrift in 3rd, but the lead will change as Kellett will be a nonstarter due to other commitments, but other riders looking to move up the standings will include Ricky Brown on the Tony Maunders Racing Yamaha, Gareth Northam, Fraser Gardiner, Tristan Rowe and Ben Griffiths on the 32Five Racing Yamaha plus many more.

In the M D Racing Over age classes again they are well supported and for sure will produce some excellent racing. In the Over 35 class last year’s Champion Wayne Shimell on the TyreMarks/St Blazey Mx Honda who has a 12 points lead over the Cheddar Mx Ktm of Darren Banwell who took his first win at the last round and will be out for a repeat performance. In the Over 40’s 2016 Champion Stuart Rawlings will be the rider to beat and a rider looking to do that will be leapey Leigh Williams on the J D Racing Ktm who is the only rider to beat Rawlings so far this year and sits 2nd in the standings just 6 points behind. In the Over 45’s Richard Green on the T R Green Engineering Husqvarna has yet to be beaten, but he will be up against it at Crediton in the shape of Mark Gleadhill and Laurence Watkins to name a few. The Over 50’s has Steve Elford on the Gabriel Insulations Honda topping the points from the Tony Maunders Racing Honda of Rob Lewis who sits 21 points adrift in 2nd, but hoping to do better at round 3 will be the likes of last year’s Champion David Ford on the Projuice Ktm, Alan Packer, Alex Buckingham and Ian Smith.

In the JCT Developments Junior Championship its Jake Curtis-Stevens on the D S C Cornwall Kawasaki who sits top of the standings with maximum points so far, but moving up in to 2nd at the last round was Jordan Barrs (Pictured No 211) who trails by 38 points with Luke Oldfield dropping back down in to 3rd just 6 points behind Barrs, but as with the opening two rounds there is plenty of other talent capable of causing an upset.


Crediton Raceway has easy parking with excellent viewing and will be signposted off the A377 at Crediton (Postcode EX17 3PG) with all the action getting under way at 10-30am. (for more info contact Greta on 07979351595)