This Sunday the newly sponsored St Blazey Premier Mx Championship kicks off with the opening round at Little Silver Moto Parc, Exeter. Registrations have been flooding in through the winter break and great interest has been shown in all classes which consist of Experts, 2-Stroke, juniors and Over 35’s, Over 40’s, Over 45’s and Over 50’s.


The Expert class has got a real strong line up including last year’s Expert Champion Jordan Carter (Pictured) who this year will be on a Tony Maunders Racing Kawasaki who for sure will be looking to retain his title, but looking to strip that title from Jordan will be the likes of 2016 Weston Beach Race winner and Patchquick Trophy winner Todd Kellett (St Blazey Mx / S J Hodder Husqvarna), Jamie Skuse (Tony Maunders Racing Suzuki), Dan Thornhill (Cab Screens Husqvarna), Tommy Alba (D S C Cornwall Kawasaki), Josh Gilbert (Dave Thorpe Off Road / RFX Honda), James Kensington (Tony Maunders / M D Racing KTM), Darren Shears (Plymouth City Moto Park Yamaha), Luke Dean (SevenSeven2 Yamaha UK), Corey Hockey (Cheddar Mx KTM), Kelvin Townsend (Tony Maunders Racing Yamaha), Luke Sturgeon (D S C Cornwall Kawasaki), Loukas Maggio (Dave Thorpe Off Road Honda), Will Worden (R C Motorhomes / Gibbs Performance KTM), Michael Ellis (P & H Motorcycles KTM) plus wildcards Jake Shipton (Crescent RHR Yamaha), Rob Holyoake (Apico CPS Husqvarna) and Josh Coleman (Cab Screens Husqvarna) to name a few.


The 2-Stroke class also looks to be very competitive with last year’s Champion Leighton Holmes (J D Racing KTM) not likely to have it that easy as joining him will be the likes of Ty Kellett (98 Vision Husqvarna), Ben Milward (Inchains Yamaha), Gary Roper (Skydive Buzz KTM), Welshman Ben Griffiths (32Five Racing Yamaha), Fraser Gardiner (Google Shop / CPS Racing Husqvarna) and Ricky Brown (Tony Maunders Racing Yamaha) plus many more.


The junior class sees many up and coming riders moving up from the schoolboy ranks having their first ride in the adults, so the racing will be fast and furious in qualifying to determine who will get into A, B or C groups.


As with other years the Over age classes has proved very popular not just the riders but also with the spectators. Riders who have registered for the 2017 series include the likes of 2016 Over 35 Champion Wayne Shimell (TyreMarks / St Blazey Mx Honda), Darren Banwell (Cheddar Mx KTM), James Price (Ace Comfort Cooling / Trade Counter Direct Kawasaki), 2016 Over 40’s Champion Stuart Rawlings, 2010 Over 35 Champion Richard Cuff, 2015 Over 50’s Champion Mark Gleadhill, Richard Tapscott (Tony Maunders Racing Honda), leapey Leigh Williams makes a return to racing, Richard Green (T R Green Engineering Husqvarna), Stephen Elford (Gabriel Insulations Honda), 2016 Over 50’s Champion David Ford (Projuice KTM) and Rob Lewis (Tony Maunders Racing Honda) plus many others.


Little Silver has easy access with excellent viewing and will be signposted off the end of the M5 Motorway at Kennford (sat nav EX6 7UD) with the first race at 10-30am. (Still places available contact Greta on 07979351595)