This Sunday September 24th the St Blazey Mx Premier Motocross Championship makes its way down in to Cornwall to the ever popular Landrake Moto Parc which will host the final round of the 2017 series.

In the St Blazey Mx Expert Championship it’s Jamie Skuse on the Tony Maunders Racing Suzuki last year’s runner up who has a 92 points advantage over the Cab Screens Husqvarna of Dan Thornhill in the standings with Kelvin Townsend there in 3rd just 51 points adrift, but right on Townsends tail is James Kensington on the Tony Maunders Racing/MDR 2-Stroke Ktm who is just 8 points back in 4th, but just like with the penultimate round there is a star line up including Todd Kellett on the Hitachi Construction Ktm who was dominant at the last 2 rounds, plus Cornish youngster Josh Gilbert (Pictured No 3) who will be on home soil with plenty of local support on the Dave Thorpe Off Road/RFX Honda along with 2016 Champion Jordan Carter, the D S C Cornwall Kawasaki of Luke Sturgeon, Jay Lewis, Ben Cryer who returns after a nasty crash at the last round, Ben Hunt plus Wildcards Jake Shipton on the RHR/Crescent Yamaha and Tom Moore with many more expected.

In the R C Motorhomes 2-Stroke MX1 Championship Leighton Holmes on the J D Racing Ktm last year’s Champion saw his lead cut to just 19 points at the last round and knows that Ben Milward on the JCT Developments/Inchains Yamaha will be looking to pile the pressure on as Holmes cannot afford any mishaps in any of the three races if he is to regain his title. Other riders looking to do well will include the likes of Leigh Williams, Gareth Northam, Henry Ebbutt, Fraser Gardiner, Ben Griffiths and wildcard Adam Harris who will be in the thick of it for sure.

In the MX2 2-Stroke Championship its Young 15 year old Tom Darlow on the 125 N D Cycles Ktm who heads the standings by 139 points and baring a disaster in the opening race should clinch the title.

In the Over age classes it’s the TyreMarks/St Blazey Mx Honda of Wayne Shimell in the Over 35 Championship who goes in to the final round with a 44 points lead over the Cheddar Mx Ktm of Darren Banwell, but Shimell knows he also cannot afford to make any mistakes or problems with the bike, so the pressure will be on him. In the Over 40’s Class its last year’s Champion Stuart Rawlings who leads, but he had his lead cut to just 26 points at the last round by Leigh Williams who was to dominate all three races and he will for sure be giving his all again at Landrake. In the Over 45’s Richard Green on the T R Green Engineering Husqvarna has gone all season and has yet to be beaten and he will be looking to keep that record and hoping to finish the Championship on maximum points, but looking to spoil his party will be the likes of Mark Gleadhill and Justin Napier (Pictured No 77) to name a few. In the Over 50’s Steve Elford who is still carrying a hand injury goes in to the final round with the smallest of margins, just 6 points ahead of David Ford on the Projuice Ktm who won all three races last time out and if he does this at Landrake it will give Ford the title, so this one is set to go down to the wire.

The JCT Developments Junior Championship the pressure will be on Jordan Barrs (Pictured No 211) who heads the Championship by just 35 points from Jamie Dixon with Jake Curtis-Stevens now in 3rd who for sure will be the man to beat, but all Barrs needs to do is to be consistent and finish well up in the first two races to win the Championship. As with other rounds there is plenty of other talent capable of causing an upset like Luke Oldfield, Ross Parkinson, Ross Kersey, Scott Ardren and Harry Mitchell plus many more and a few wildcards.

Landrake Moto Parc is an excellent viewing track and has easy access and parking and will be signposted off the A38 South of the Tamar Bridge (Postcode PL12 5EP) with all the action getting under way at 10-30am. Entries still available (for more info contact Greta on 01884 840078 or 07979351595)

Preview & Photo by Dave Rich