This Saturday (yes Saturday) October 17th the final round of the 2015 Phoenix Tools Ifly Premier motocross Championship is set to take place at the ever popular Landrake Moto Parc in Cornwall. Three of the Championships have already been wrapped up at the last round, but there is still three Championships to be decided in the Shape of Pro Expert, Expert open and the Over 40’s.

In the Phoenix Tools/Ifly Pro Expert Championship current Championship leader on the Oakleaf Motorsport Honda Shane Carless (Pictured No 68) goes in to the final round with a 31 points lead over the Tony Maunders Racing Suzuki of Jamie Skuse in the standings, but all is not well for Carless as he is carrying a serious knee injury which could hamper him and with 150 points on offer Skuse who has been consistant all year will for sure be giving is all to denie him the Championship. Other riders hoping to do well will include the likes of Alfie Smith, Kelvin Townsend, Ross Keyworth, Tom Moore, Todd Kellett, Ross Hill and wildcards Jake Shipton, Luke Dean, Loukas Maggio and local Cornish rider young Josh Gilbert who will have plenty of local support plus many more.PIC 395

In the Tony Maunders Expert Championship it’s theD S C Cornwall Kawasaki of Ben Butler who heads the standings by 30 points from the Tony Maunders Racing KTM 2-stroke of James Kensington who will have to be at his best as not to far adrift in 3rd is Jake Penny (Pictured No 174) who has come on strong in the last couple of rounds. Other riders include Sam Gabriel, Jack Stevens, Luke Sturgeon plus Lewis Barfoot and Jamie Carpenter who clinched the Junior Championship at the penultimate round who will on a 450 Phoenix Tools Husqvarna and will be having his first ride in the Experts as a wildcard to name a few.

PIC 396

In the M D Racing Over 35 Class Nick Life on the Gibbs Performance / St Blazey Yamaha retained his title at the last round, but for sure he will be the rider to beat and will be looking to go out on a high, but Nick didn’t have it all his own way at the penultimate round where he was beaten in two of the 3 races by wildcard Ben Harmon who will be a threat at Landrake, but lining up with them include Stephen Elford, Carl Dezis, Jamie Deadman and James Knatchbull (Pictured No 25). In the Over 40’s Championship this could well go down to the wire as Chris Brown had his advantage cut to just 9 points at the penultimate round by Terry House who took a hat trick of wins and will be pushing to do the same again, but joining in the fun will include the likes of Richard Green, David Ford, Richard Tapscott, Tony Bayliss and Laurence Watkins plus many others. In the Over 50’s Mark Gleadhill was declared Champion at the last round after taking a hat trick of wins and will be the man to beat and hoping to do that will be the likes of Adrian Toy, Dave Watson and Graham Beale to name a few.

PIC 397

In the Tyremarks Junior Championship young Jamie Carpenter has already took the Championship and has moved up as a wildcard in the Experts but it will be a battle royal for runner up spot as Jason Brooke currently lies in 2nd just 4 points ahead of Bradley Barfoot in 3rd with young Jay Lewis there in 4th just 6 points adrift so this could go right down to the last race as could the battle for 5th and 6th between James Bailey and Elliott Cook who are separated by just one point, but there is plenty of other talent entered plus many wildcards.


Landrake Moto Parc is one of the premier tracks in the country and has excellent viewing with easy parking and will be signposted off the A38 South of the Tamar Bridge (Sat Nav PL12 5EP) with the first race at 10-30am. (There are still a few spaces left in all classes, for more info ring Greta on 01884 840078)