This Sunday June 4th after a lapse of some six weeks the St Blazey Mx Premier Motocross Championship returns for round 4 at the ever popular Grittenham Parc, Nr Royal Wootton Bassett in Wiltshire.

Going into Rd 4 it’s the Cab Screens Husqvarna of Dan Thornhill who heads the St Blazey Mx Expert Championship by 35 points from Tommy Alba with the Tony Maunders Racing Suzuki of Jamie Skuse (Pictured No 600) there in 3rd who will have plenty of local support as he is on home soil just 8 points adrift of Alba, but Alba unfortunately will be a non-starter on Sunday after badly breaking his wrist. Other riders lining up include the likes of Jordan Carter last year’s Champion on the Tony Maunders Racing Kawasaki, early Championship leader Todd Kellett on the St Blazey Mx Husqvarna, Loukas Maggio on the Dave Thorpe Adventure Centre Honda, Corey Hockey on the Cheddar Mx Ktm, the Dave Thorpe Off Road Centre Honda of Josh Gilbert, Kelvin Townsend on the Tony Maunders Racing Yamaha, Josh Taylor on the J D Racing Ktm, the Maunders/M D Racing Ktm of James Kensington and Luke Sturgeon on the D S C Cornwall Kawasaki plus many more.


In the R C Motorhomes 2-Stroke MX1 class Championship its last year’s Champion Leighton Holmes on the J D Racing Ktm who now leads the Championship by 9 points from the JCT Developments/Inchains Yamaha of Ben Milward with Gareth Northam there in 3rd, but the racing will be furious as lining up with them will be early Championship leader Ty Kellett on the St Blazey Mx/98 Vision Husqvarna, the 32Five Racing Yamaha of Welshman Ben Griffiths, Tristan Rowe on the Mark Rowe & Son Honda, the Tony Maunders Racing Yamaha of Ricky Brown and Leigh Williams on the J D Racing Ktm to name a few.

In the R C Motorhomes 2-Stroke MX2 class its Gary Roper on the SkyDive Buzz Ltd Ktm who heads the standings from youngster Tom Darlow on the N D Cycles Ktm who sits just 9 points adrift in 2nd.

The M D Racing Over age classes as usual entries are nigh on full and is sure to produce some excellent racing. Wayne Shimell onboard the St Blazey Mx/TyreMarks Honda in the Over 35 Championship goes into Rd 4 with 23 points lead over the Cheddar Mx Ktm of Darren Banwell (Pictured No 11) who is still pressing hard and for sure will be doing the same at Grittenham, whereas in the Over 40’s last year’s Champion Stuart Rawlings has a 15 points advantage over the J D Racing Ktm of leapey Leigh Williams. The Over 40’s see’s Richard Green with maximum points after the first three rounds, but hoping to spoil his 100% performance will be the likes of Mark Gleadhill and newlywed Laurence Watkins. The Over 50’s Steve Elford has 36 points lead over Welshman Rob Lewis with Alan Packer not too far back in 3rd.


The JCT Developments Junior Championship so far in the series has produced some of the best racing and as we go into round 4 it’s Jake Curtis-Stevens on the D S C Cornwall Kawasaki who heads the Championship on maximum points from Jordan Barrs (Pictured No 211) with the P & S Auto Services Ktm of Jamie Dixon and Ross Kersey on the Barton Scaffolding Yamaha tied on points in 3rd just 13 points adrift of Barrs, but there is plenty of other talent looking to do well like Ross Parkinson, Jake Parker, Scott Ardren, Luke Oldfield and Harry Mitchell plus many more.


Grittenham is a fast-flowing track with easy access and parking and will be signposted off Junction 16 M4 (Postcode SN15 4JW) with all the action getting under way at 10-30am. Entries still available (for more info contact Greta on 07979351595)


Preview & Photo by Dave Rich