This Sunday August 20th the St Blazey Mx Premier Motocross Championship makes its way down to Plymouth City Moto Parc for round 6 in the 8 round series.

In the St Blazey Mx Expert Championship the Championship lead was to change at the last round in the absence of Dan Thornhill and it was Jamie Skuse on the Tony Maunders Racing Suzuki who leap frogged Thornhill in the standings and now leads the Championship by 98 points, but there is still 9 races to go in the Championship and for sure Thornhill (Pictured No 95) on the Cab Screens Husqvarna will be looking to close that gap. Thornhill will have to be at his best though as just 5 points behind him going in to round 6 is Kelvin Townsend on the Tony Maunders Racing Yamaha who is starting to shine in the latter part of the season. Other riders looking to pose a threat include the likes of last year’s Champion Jordan Carter, Luke Sturgeon on the D S C Cornwall Kawasaki, James Kensington, Ben Cryer plus many more.

In the R C Motorhomes 2-Stroke MX1 class Championship its last year’s Champion Leighton Holmes on the J D Racing Ktm who goes in to round 6 after bike issues at the last round where he had his lead cut to just 16 points and hoping to narrow that lead even more will be Ben Milward on the Inchains/JCT Developments Yamaha as well as the likes of Henry Ebbutt, Gareth Northam and Leigh Williams to name a few. In the MX2 class its now young 15 year old Tom Darlow on the 125 N D Cycles Ktm who heads the proceedings by 91 points over Gary Roper who for sure will be looking to cut that deficit.


The M D Racing Over age classes as per usual entries are nigh on full for what has become a very popular series. Wayne Shimell goes in to round 6 of the Over 35 Championship on his TyreMarks/St Blazey Mx Honda with a 41 points advantage over the Cheddar Mx Ktm of Barren Banwell who’s on a smaller bike than Shimell will have to be at his best as will Tim Pearce (Pictured No 42) who sits in 3rd in the standings just 4 points ahead of Luke Dewey. In the Over 40’s last year’s Champion Stuart Rawlings will be looking to consolidate his 41 points lead over the J D Racing Ktm of Leigh Williams who hasn’t given up the chase as yet, where as in the Over 45’s Championship the question again will be asked can anyone beat Richard Green on the T R Engineering Husqvarna who still has a hundred percent record. Hoping to topple him though will be the likes of Mark Gleadhill, Laurence Watkins and Justin Napier to name a few. In the Over 50’s class Championship leader Steve Elford who leads the Championship by 21 points will be a nonstarter after a serious crash breaking his wrist at the last round and for sure will be overtaken by David Ford on the Projuice Ktm who sits in 2nd in the standings or Alan Packer who is just 19 points adrift of Ford in 3rd.



The JCT Developments Junior Championship its Jordan Barrs who heads the standings by 29 points from Jamie Dixon on the P & S Autoservices Ktm with the Tonic Racing Ktm of Luke Oldfield just a point behind Dixon in 3rd. Making his return after breaking his collar bone when leading the Championship will be Jake Curtis-Stevens (Pictured No 9) on the D S C Cornwall Kawasaki who for sure will be looking to move up from his current position which is 6th in the standings, but also looking to do well will be the likes of Harry Mitchell, Ross Parkinson, Ross Kersey, Scott Ardren and James Bailey plus many more.


Plymouth City Moto Parc has easy access and parking and will be signposted off the A38 at Ernesettle (Postcode PL5 2DE) with all the action getting under way at 10-30am. Entries still available (for more info contact Greta on 07979351595)


Preview & Photo by Dave Rich